Election results are in as new officers prepare to take office


Scott Redmond, Staff Writer

Elections for the Associated Students of Cosumnes River College board and the district-wide election of a student member for the Board of Trustees were held on April 8 and April 9.

Only two candidates were on the ballot for CRC. Katelynn Rodriguez ran for ASCRC Student Senate President and won with 64 votes, while Malcolm Nash ran for the position of ASCRC Clubs and Events Board Commissioner, gathering 67 votes, according to an election results flyer.

According to the same flyer, 88 votes in total were cast.

Unlike previous elections there was no voting booths or voting in person on campus.

“The elections were fully online for the first time,” said Student Senate and Clubs & Events Board Advisor Winnie Moore LaNier via email. “Thank you to all who offered support and assistance in helping students exercise their right to vote. Thank you, as well, to the candidates.”

Omba Kipuke won the district-wide election for the student trustee position with 328 votes, LaNier said.

A special election will be held in the fall to fill the remaining positions, LaNier said in the email.

The new officers will take their oath of office in Winn 106 at 1:30 p.m. on May 8.